1986 Fleer #27 Joe Dumars Rookie HOF Pistons PSA 8


Joe Dumars III (born May 24, 1963) is a retired American basketball player in the National Basketball Association. At 6’3″ (190 cm) Dumars could play either shooting guard or point guard on offense and was a highly effective defender. He played for the Detroit Pistons from 1985 until 1999. During the late 1980s and early 1990s, Dumars and Isiah Thomas combined to form one of the best backcourts in NBA history. Initially a shooting guard, Dumars moved to point guard following Thomas’ retirement in 1994, sharing ball-handling duties with Grant Hill. Dumars was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2006. Dumars served as the President of Basketball Operations for the Detroit Pistons from 2000 to 2014.

During his career, he was selected to the All-Star team six times, and to the All-Defensive first team four times. In 14 seasons, all with the Pistons, Dumars scored 16,401 points, handed out 4,612 assists, grabbed 2,203 rebounds and recorded 902 steals.

Although he was a member of the famed “Bad Boys” teams known for their aggressive play and demeanor, he became personally known for his quiet and upstanding behavior. He was the first recipient of the NBA Sportsmanship Award which has been named the Joe Dumars Trophy.

His number 4 jersey was retired by the Pistons in March 2000. He has the distinction as being the only Pistons player to ever wear this number.

He played for the US national team in the 1994 FIBA World Championship, winning the gold medal.


Career highlights and awards
2× NBA champion (1989–1990)
NBA Finals MVP (1989)
6× NBA All-Star (1990–1993, 1995, 1997)
All-NBA Second Team (1993)
2× All-NBA Third Team (1990–1991)
4× NBA All-Defensive First Team (1989–1990, 1992–1993)
NBA All-Defensive Second Team (1991)
NBA All-Rookie First Team (1986)
J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award (1994)
NBA Sportsmanship Award (1996)
No. 4 retired by Detroit Pistons
Southland Player of the Year (1985)
As Executive:

NBA champion (2004)
NBA Executive of the Year (2003)