Greg Monroe

Gregory Keith Monroe, Jr. (born June 4, 1990) is an American professional basketball player for the Milwaukee Bucks of the National Basketball Association (NBA). In his freshman season at Georgetown University, Monroe was named Big East Rookie of the Year. He was drafted by the Detroit Pistons in the 2010 NBA draft with the seventh overall pick and became the last Pistons player to wear the #10 jersey, after the Pistons retired the number for Dennis Rodman at halftime of a game against the Chicago Bulls on April 1, 2011.

During the 2013–14 season, Monroe recorded his third consecutive season with 1,000-plus points and 600-plus rebounds, joining Grant Hill as the only Pistons to do so since 1994–95.

On June 30, 2014, the Pistons tendered a one-year qualifying offer to make Monroe a restricted free agent. On September 8, 2014, it was announced Monroe signed the Pistons’ qualifying offer, thus making him an unrestricted free agent in 2015. The next day, the NBA suspended Monroe without pay for the first two games of the 2014–15 season for driving while visibly impaired in February 2014. On December 3, 2014, he scored a season-high 29 points in a 102-109 overtime loss to the Boston Celtics. On April 8, 2015, he returned to action after missing 11 games with a knee injury to record 19 points and 10 rebounds in another loss to the Celtics.

On July 9, 2015, Monroe signed a three-year, $50 million contract with the Milwaukee Bucks. He made his debut for the Bucks in the team’s season opener against the New York Knicks on October 28, recording 22 points and 14 rebounds in a 122–97 loss. Between February 9 and March 7, 2016, Monroe had a 12-game bench stint as head coach Jason Kidd tinkered with his line-up. In his first game coming off the bench, he recorded a season-high 29 points and 12 rebounds in a 112–111 win over the Boston Celtics. Monroe returned to the starting line-up on March 9 for the Bucks’ game against the Miami Heat.


Career highlights and awards
NBA All-Rookie Second Team (2011)
Pete Newell Big Man Award (2010)
Third-team All-American – AP, NABC (2010)
First-team All-Big East (2010)
Big East Rookie of the Year (2009)
Big East All-Rookie Team (2009)
2× Louisiana Mr. Basketball (2007, 2008)
McDonald’s All-American (2008)