Mark Aguirre

Mark Anthony Aguirre (born December 10, 1959) is an American retired basketball player in the National Basketball Association. Aguirre played from 1981–1994 and won two championships with the Detroit Pistons after being sent to Detroit from the Dallas Mavericks in exchange for Adrian Dantley. Aguirre was a three-time All-Star for Dallas.

Aguirre averaged 20 points per game over the course of his 13-year NBA career. He was selected as the first overall pick by the Dallas Mavericks in the 1981 NBA draft and remained with the Mavericks until 1989.

In his first season Aguirre was limited to 51 games and averaged 18.7 points, second on the team to Jay Vincent (21.4 ppg). The Mavericks improved by 13 games in the win column and finished ahead of the Utah Jazz, but were still twenty games behind division-leading San Antonio Spurs.

After Aguirre joined them, the Pistons won the NBA title in 1988-89 and repeated as champions in 1989–90. Aguirre came off the bench for Dennis Rodman and averaged 14.1 points, fourth highest on the team. He showed he could blend into a successful team by taking fewer shots, playing hard on defense, and not complaining when Rodman’s minutes increased greatly over time. In the 1990 playoffs, which culminated with a five-game Finals win over Portland, Aguirre averaged 11.0 points.

Aguirre played three more seasons with the Pistons in an increasingly limited role, due to both Rodman’s play and his own age and injury issues. In 1993, the Pistons released Aguirre and after he cleared waivers the Los Angeles Clippers signed him for $150,000 for a partial campaign in 1993–94. Through the 1993–94 season Aguirre had accumulated 18,458 points for a career average of 20.0 points per game. He retired in 1994.





Career highlights and awards
2× NBA champion (1989, 1990)
3× NBA All-Star (1984, 1987–1988)
Naismith College Player of the Year (1980)
Adolph Rupp Trophy (1980)
USBWA Player of the Year (1980)
AP Player of the Year (1980)
UPI Player of the Year (1980)
Sporting News College Player of the Year (1981)
2× Consensus first-team All-American (1980–1981)
No. 24 retired by DePaul